Second Semester 2008-2009

January 2, 2009, Friday
University Offices Open

January 2, Friday – January 9, Friday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment

January 11, Sunday, 9 a.m.
Residence Hall Open

January 12, Monday
First Day of Class

January 12, Monday – January 16, Friday
Late Registration and Add/Drop (Schedule Adjustment)

January 16, Friday
Last Day to Add Classes (Withdrawals Only After This Date)

January 19, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday – University Closed

January 20, Tuesday
“W” Withdrawal Period Begins

February 6, Friday
Application for May Graduation Due in Academic Dean’s Office

February 13, Friday
Last Day to Drop 1st 8 Weeks Courses

March 4, Wednesday
Mid-Semester, 1st 8 Weeks Courses End

March 5, Thursday
2nd 8 Weeks Courses Begin

March 9, Monday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Freshmen Mid Term Grades

March 16, Monday
Final Draft of Thesis Due in Advisor’s Office

March 20, Friday
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Individual Course

March 21, Saturday, Noon
Residence Halls Close

March 22, Sunday – March 29, Sunday
Spring Break – Classes Dismissed

March 23, Monday – May 1, Friday
Complete Withdrawals Only

March 29, Sunday, Noon
Residence Halls Open

March 30, Monday
Classes Resume

March 30, Monday
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration (Required for students who have mandatory advising holds)

March 30, Monday – April 3, Friday
Advance Registration For Summer Session for Currently Enrolled Students

April 6, Monday
Recommended Date to Apply for December 2009 Graduation

April 6, Monday
Advance Registration for Summer Session Open to All Admitted/Re-admitted Sudents

April 8, Wednesday
Assessment Day – Classes Cancelled for University-Wide Assessment Activities. Students obtain list of activities from department chair. Undecided students should go to their college office for a list. (Evening Classes 4:00 p.m. or Later Will Meet)

April 10, Friday
Last Day to Drop 2nd 8 Weeks Courses

April 13, Monday – April 24, Friday
Advance Registration Fall Semester for Currently Enrolled Students

April 23, Thursday
Last Day for Defense of Dissertation

April 27, Monday
Last Possible Date for Thesis/Dissertation Defense

April 27, Monday – May 1, Friday
“Dead Week”

April 27, Monday – May 8, Friday
Advance Registration for Fall Semester Open to All Admitted/Re-Admitted Students Except First Time Fall Undergraduates

May 1 , Friday
Last Class Day and Last Day to Completely Withdraw For Spring Semester

May 2 , Saturday
Exam Day for Saturday Classes (and some common finals)

May 4 , Monday
Exam Day

May 5, Tuesday
Exam Day

May 6, Wednesday
Study Day – Exams for Wednesday Classes 3 p.m. and After Will Be Held

May 7, Thursday
Exam Day

May 7, Thursday
Approved Thesis/Dissertation Must Be Submitted Electronically And All Paperwork/Checks Must Be in Graduate College Office

May 8, Friday
Exam Day

May 9, Saturday – May 17, Sunday
Advance Registration/Schedule Adjustment for Fall Semester is Suspended

May 9, Saturday
172nd Commencement Exercises

May 9, Saturday, Noon
Residence Halls Close

May 11, Monday
Intersession Begins

May 12, Tuesday
Deadline for Submitting Final Set of Grades

May 18, Monday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment Resumes for Fall Semester for All Students Except First-Time Fall Undergraduates

May 23, Saturday – May 25, Monday
University Computer Services Unavailable

May 25, Monday
Memorial Day Holiday – University Closed