Second Semester 2009-2010

January 4, 2010, Monday
University Offices Open

January 4, Monday -- January 8, Friday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment

January 10, Sunday, 9 a.m. 
Residence Halls Open

January 11, Monday
First Day of Classes

January 11, Monday -- January 15, Friday 
Late Registration and Add/Drop (Schedule Adjustment)

January 15, Friday
Last Day to Add Classes (Withdrawals Only After This Date)

January 18, Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday -- University Closed

January 19, Tuesday
“W” Withdrawal Period Begins

February 5, Friday
Application for May Graduation Due in Academic Dean’s Office

February 12, Friday
Last Day to Drop 1st 8 Weeks Courses

March 3, Wednesday 
Mid-Semester, 1st 8 Weeks Courses End

March 4, Thursday
2nd 8 Weeks Courses Begin

March 8, Monday, Noon 
Deadline for Submitting Freshmen Mid Term Grades

March 15, Monday 
Final Draft of Thesis Due in Advisor’s Office

March 19, Friday 
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Individual Course

March 20, Saturday, Noon
Residence Halls Close

March 21, Sunday - March 28, Sunday

Spring Break -- Classes Dismissed

March 22, Monday - April 30, Friday
Complete Withdrawals Only

March 28, Sunday, Noon
Residence Halls Open

March 29, Monday 
Classes Resume

March 29, Monday
Students should schedule appointments with advisors to prepare for advance registration (Required for students who have mandatory advising holds)

March 29, Monday - April 2, Friday
Advance Registration For Summer Session for Currently Enrolled Students

April 5, Monday
Recommended Date to Apply for December 2010 Graduation

April 5, Monday
Advance Registration for Summer Session Open to All Admitted/Re-admitted Students

April 7, Wednesday
Assessment Day -- Classes Cancelled for University-Wide Assessment Activities. Students obtain list of activities from department chair. Undecided students should go to their college office for a list. (Evening Classes 4:00 p.m. or Later Will Meet)

April 9, Friday
Last Day to Drop 2nd 8 Weeks Courses

April 12, Monday - April 23, Friday
Advance Registration Fall Semester for Currently Enrolled Students

April 22, Thursday
Last Day for Defense of Dissertation

April 26, Monday
Last Possible Date for Thesis/Dissertation Defense

April 26, Monday - April 30, Friday
“Dead Week”

April 26, Monday -- May 7, Friday
Advance Registration for Fall Semester Open to All Admitted/Re-Admitted Students Except First-Time Fall Undergraduates

April 30, Friday
Last Class Day and Last Day to Completely Withdraw For Spring Semester

May 1, Saturday
Exam Day for Saturday Classes (and some common finals)

May 3, Monday
Exam Day

May 4, Tuesday
Exam Day

May 5, Wednesday
Study Day -- Exams for Wednesday Classes 3 p.m. and After Will Be Held

May 6, Thursday
Exam Day

May 6, Thursday
Approved Thesis/Dissertation Must Be Submitted Electronically And All Paperwork/Checks Must Be in Graduate College Office

May 7, Friday
Exam Day

May 8, Saturday - May 9, Sunday
Advance Registration/Schedule Adjustment for Fall Semester is Suspended

May 8, Saturday
173rd Commencement Exercises

May 8, Saturday, Noon
Residence Halls Close

May 10, Monday
Registration/Schedule Adjustment Resumes for Fall Semester for All Students Except First-Time Fall Undergraduates

May 11, Tuesday, Noon
Deadline for Submitting Final Set of Grades

May 29, Saturday - May 31, Monday 
University Computer Services Unavailable

May 31, Monday
Memorial Day Holiday - University Closed

July 5, Monday
Independence Day Holiday Observed -- University Closed

May 10, Monday - August 13, Friday
Summer School Sessions – Details Will Be Available At www.marshall.edu/registrar